The Ray E. Brown Fellowship

The Ray E. Brown Fellowships are awarded over the summer to an incoming student from each of the participating GPHAP schools who are also seeking admission to GPHAP, while at the University of Chicago. All applications are reviewed by the GPHAP Director and GPHAP Faculty Committee. The applicants are considered based on their commitment and passion to the health care field, their demonstrated understanding of the value of interdisciplinary, collaborative approaches, and the student’s ability and willingness to take a leadership role in the program. The Ray E. Brown Recruitment Fellowship application is integrated with the GPHAP application. Students must apply for the Ray E. Brown Recruitment Fellowship at the time they apply for GPHAP before entering their first year.

2021 Brown Fellows:

  • Nadalyn Bangura, Crown
  • Rebecca Delay, Harris
  • Sabrina Wang, Pritzker
  • Jay Yarlagadda, Booth

2020 Brown Fellows:

  • Vanessa Li, Harris
  • Valerie Otti, Pritzker
  • Nicole Villarreal, Booth
  • Alexandrea Wilson, Crown

2019 Brown Fellows:

  • Vanessa Buie, Booth
  • Jinglin Fu, Harris
  • Catherine Pellerin, Law

2018 Brown Fellows:

  • Michelle Agunloye, Crown
  • Sara Rahim, Harris
  • Steven Server, Pritzker

2017 Brown Fellows:

  • Rachael Mazzella Zukus, Booth
  • Christine Head, Crown
  • Riddhima Mishra, Harris
  • Ben Bowman, Pritzker

2016 Brown Fellows:

  • Melissa Whitney, Harris
  • Sue Kim, Booth
  • Xavier Ramirez, Crown
  • Dylan Cowart, Law
  • Ellen Richmond, Pritzker

2015 Brown Fellows:

  • Salwa Shameem, Harris
  • Priyanka Karandikar, Booth
  • Eleni Gaveras, Crown
  • Nathan Maxwell, Law
  • Lea Hoefer, Pritzker

2014 Brown Fellows:

  • Antonia Bernhardt, Harris
  • Kevin Stephens, Booth
  • Toni Sadler, Crown
  • Nick Graves, Pritzker

2013 Brown Fellows:

  • Poppy Coleman, Harris
  • Cindy Nguyen, Booth
  • Heidi Ortolaza-Alvear, Crown

2012 Brown Fellows:

  • Helen Ning, Harris
  • Shantanu Nundy, Booth
  • Brielle Treece, Crown

2011 Brown Fellows:

  • Benjamin Galick, Harris
  • Angela Aifah, Crown